Disney for Two?

I ran into an old friend at WDW this year. Aside from the fact that it was totally surreal to actually see someone I knew among that mass of strangers, what struck me about our brief catch-up visit was this: she specified that she and her family were there on a “trip,” not a “vacation.” Her reasoning was that vacations are relaxing, and Disney World is anything but.

I understand what she meant. When I leave WDW, I’m completely exhausted: physically, mentally, and emotionally. I’ve been trying to keep up with three very busy boys for a week (or so), brokering peace when necessary (I’m very glad I took those negotiations classes when I worked in the insurance industry – though at the time I didn’t realize I’d need them in my career as a mom), enduring heat and humidity and thunderstorms, trying to make sure that everyone gets to do everything they want to do before we run out of time, and – the big one – helping them through the let-down of boarding the Magical Express on its way back to the airport. By the time we get home, we need at least a week to recover. Not that I’m complaining; it’s just that I get what my friend meant about Disney being a lot of work.

Sometimes, I think about the days when it will be Disney for Two, instead of Disney for Five. With our oldest now in junior high, the days of Disney-trips-for-two suddenly seem not so far away. Will it be nice to not have to rush madly from one attraction to the next, to sit and enjoy a nice meal rather than grabbing a quick hot dog, and maybe even visit a spa or play a round of golf? It sounds nice. Relaxing. Serene. And maybe it will be. But I think I’ll be longing for the days of trying to keep up with three busy boys as they race around the World trying to experience it all. That’s a kind of magical energy you can’t find anywhere else.

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disney for Two?

  1. As you know, we’ve just returned from a Disney ‘trip’ / ‘vacation’ / ‘holiday’…and it was just the two of us. Despite not rushing from place to place, and not having children with us, I still returned home physically and emotionally drained!!! I sometimes think that if you’re able to visit the World several times a year it helps ‘cope’ with each trip…it’s a theory I hope to test one day!

    • HFBrainerd says:

      We were lucky enough to go to WDW twice this year… and felt that glorious sense of urgency both times! I think there’s just something about being at Disney – no matter how often I go – that makes me eager to get up and out early each day, and to stay out as late as I possibly can each night. Hence the exhaustion when I get home. đŸ™‚
      Looking forward to your posts about your recent trip!

Leave a Reply

