Disney Classic: Pirates of the Caribbean

Just typing that title makes me hear the movie theme song in my head and envision Johnny Depp with a saucy look on his face and the salty sea wind blowing through his dreadlocked hair. But long before the movies were made, there was the classic WDW attraction. It is, in my opinion, one of the best.

For the most part, this is a mellow boat ride through scenes of piratey revelry. Be warned, however, that there is a 14-foot drop in the dark not too long after you set sail. I had forgotten about this drop the first time we took our kids to Disney (that first family trip was 20 years after my childhood WDW visits), and my son was a bit freaked out by it. He’s over his fright now, and counts this ride among his favorites, too.

I’m looking forward to seeing the mermaid additions to this ride that I’ve heard tell about. Yet another thing to look forward to on our next Disney trip, whenever that may be.

As you climb out of your boat, you’re sure to be singing “yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me! Something something something something, drink up, me hearties, yo ho!” At least, that’s what we sing. And as you exit through the gift shop, some booty just may catch your eye. We’ve dropped more than a few pieces of eight there!

Two of my pirates dueling in our suite!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, Walt Disney World attractions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Disney Classic: Pirates of the Caribbean

  1. The smell and the song, brings back so many wonderful memories for me 🙂

  2. We’ll have to keep our eyes open for the mermaid addition to this classic ride. 🙂

Leave a Reply

