FastPass+ update

There’s been much ado about FastPass+ in the last few months. Today, when I logged on to “My Disney Experience” on the Disney World website to go over my upcoming vacation plans, I was greeted with a window I’d never seen before. The window disappeared before I could get a screen shot of it, but it basically said that the new “MyMagic+” system will be coming to Disney World over the next few months. If you haven’t yet heard of it, this will be a way to make all of your vacation plans online before your trip. You’ll also be able to change your plans while on vacation using your smartphone or kiosks at WDW. In theory, this sounds good to me. I’m a planner. However, there will be a limit on the number of FastPass+ attractions you can visit per day. According to the Walt Disney World website’s FAQs about FastPass+:

“Q. Can I select more than one FASTPASS+ attraction?
A. Yes. You can reserve access to multiple FastPass+ attractions or entertainment experiences—the specific number depends on availability. In general, you will be able to select up to 4 FastPass+ attractions and entertainment experiences each day at one theme park. For extra convenience, you can even make selections up to 60 days in advance of your visit.”

I don’t like the sound of limiting my FastPasses. I like my FastPasses.

So when does this new FastPass+ thing start? Also found on the WDW website:

“When can I begin using FastPass+ service?

Over the coming months, FastPass+ service is being tested with a limited number of pre-selected participants. We know that many Guests want to give FastPass+ a try, and we ask for your patience during this testing period. In the meantime, same-day FASTPASS service will be available for all other Guests.”

photo credit: mouseonthemind.com

Rumor has it that MyMagic+ will be up and running by the end of this year. Sounds like this summer’s trip to WDW may be our last using the good old FastPass system. Although this is kind of a bummer, I’m hopeful that the new system will work for us.

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

