Epcot showdown: croissant doughnut vs. school bread

I’ve been hearing rave reviews about these two sweet treats found at Epcot, and both have been compared to donuts. Since I hadn’t tried either, I decided to do so, and then compare them to each other.

The croissant doughnut can be found at Refreshment Port. It’s fried and covered in a LOT of cinnamon sugar. The inside was a bit chewier than we anticipated (I was expecting croissant-like flakiness), but this was rather pleasing. Overall, a winner.

The croissant doughnut. Tip: skip the coffee here and go get one from Starbucks. We referred to this cuppa as "hot water with a hint of bad coffee flavoring."

The croissant doughnut. Tip: skip the coffee here and go get one from Starbucks. We referred to this cuppa as “hot water with a hint of bad coffee flavoring.”

Head over to the Norway Pavilion’s Kringla Bakeri Og Kafe to get your school bread. This kind of looks like a cream-filled, toasted-coconut-topped donut, but is a bit different. The dough is more like a sweet roll consistency than like that of a donut. The yellow cream filling has a nice, light taste than doesn’t give you that ugh-too-much-frosting feeling. Another winner.

school bread

The school bread and coffee with Bailey’s. It was better than the Refreshment Port coffee, but not as good as Starbucks.

So, which pastry was the champ? For me, it was close, but I’d be more likely to head for another school bread. Despite my frequent pestering for his vote, my husband still hasn’t decided which he prefers. 🙂

Have you tried them both? Which pastry is your pick?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Epcot, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Epcot showdown: croissant doughnut vs. school bread

  1. 2eat2drink says:

    I vote to try them both again…and then maybe I’ll decide!

  2. Does Disneyworld have a Starbucks? If so, how do their prices compare at Disneyworld to other Starbucks?

    Thanks for the word on the bakeries.

    Susan Bernhardt

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Hi Susan! There are now Starbucks locations at the Magic Kingdom and Epcot. I wouldn’t be at all surprised it they are put in at the other two parks, as well. The prices were pretty close to what we find in the “real world.” Of course, Starbucks is never cheap, even outside of Disney World. 🙂

  3. Rosie says:

    I forgot to try the school bread while I was there! Guess I will have to go back!

  4. Lisa Green says:

    I want to try this! Being born without a sweet tooth makes this challenge challenging. I’m sure I’ll get the family to try the comparison/taste-testing with me so I’ll have more opinions besides mine which is always skewed when dessert-type foods are involved. Now give me a pasta, rice or potato battle and I would be all in!

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Born without a sweet tooth!? Wow, are you lucky! Sweets are definitely my downfall. Thanks for your comment, Lisa. I look forward to hearing the results of your family’s Epcot pastry taste test!

Leave a Reply

