Lunch at Be Our Guest: long wait for average food

We had dinner at the Magic Kingdom’s Be Our Guest last August and loved it! Since dinner at this restaurant is table service, and lunch is quick service, the two different meal times were bound to be totally different experiences. Naturally, I wanted to try them both. With lunch being “quick service,” you aren’t able to make reservations. You just show up and queue up.

While in line, there's a lovely view of the Beast's castle.

While in line, there’s a lovely view of the Beast’s castle.

We got there around 1:30 and waited about 30 minutes outside, then another 5 minutes or so inside. Finally, we were able to place our order with the cashier and go choose our table. We’d eaten in the gorgeous ballroom previously, so this time opted for the spooky/fun West Wing.

The portrait in the West Wing. I love details like this that are taken right from the movie!

The portrait in the West Wing. I love details like this that are taken right from the movie!

The enchanted rose.

The enchanted rose.

I chose the croque monsieur made with ham and Gruyere. It was okay. One side was nicely (though verging on overly) toasted, but the other side was mushily raw. Sigh.

BOG croque monsieur

Croque monsieur

My husband had the carved turkey sandwich on a baguette. It was okay. The French fries were kind of undercooked. Personally, I’m okay with that, as I like mushy fries.

Turkey on baguette

Turkey on baguette

The absolute best part of the meal was dessert. Cupcakes!

Triple chocolate cupcake and The Master's cupcake (topped with the grey stuff - yum!)

Triple chocolate cupcake and The Master’s cupcake (topped with the grey stuff – yum!)

Would I go back to BOG for lunch? Probably not, unless I was with someone who really wanted to. Would I go back for dinner? Absolutely.

Have you been to Be Our Guest? What was your experience like?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, Walt Disney World Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lunch at Be Our Guest: long wait for average food

  1. Thank you for another great post, Heather. I’ve never been to Be Our Guest. I am really going to have to study all of these posts on food and everything when we go to Disney World. I remember a dinner at Epcot at the Marrakesh Restaurant where there was belly dancing and we thought the food was pretty good and enjoyed the atmosphere.

    I’m glad that you have tried out all of these restaurants for everyone. It will help us save money. Looking forward to your next post. 🙂

    Susan

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Thanks, Susan! When it comes to WDW, there are so many food choices, it’s kind of overwhelming. We’re happy to try as many as we can so we can report back! 🙂

  2. wdwdining says:

    I have not yet been to BOG. I have been dying to go. I will probably go for lunch during the Rock Your Disney Side event. I would love to go for dinner but I just can’t seem to get in. I really just wan’t to go in and check it out. =)

    • HFBrainerd says:

      It’s definitely a must-do restaurant. You absolutely feel like you’re walking right into the movie. Although I WAY preferred the dinner food to the lunchtime food, if lunch is all you can get, go for it! Maybe we were just there on an off day…

  3. greenlisa9989 says:

    Thank you for this honest review! I was going to wait in line for lunch on our May trip, but based on this post I’ve decided on dinner in October instead. Made the ADR this morning. Great review, Heather! Saved me a big bunch of time and effort.

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Thanks, Lisa! I absolutely think that dinner is the way to go. In addition to the quality of the food being far superior, they serve wine at dinnertime only.

  4. Perfect timing on your blog post! I’m getting ready to try Be Our Guest in June. I keep reading reviews that says the food is average, so I think I’m most looking forward to checking out the atmosphere and the cupcakes! Here’s a link to book a Fastpass+ reservation for lunch at Be Our Guest https://beourguestlunch.disney.go.com/ for anyone who doesn’t want to have to wait in line for such a long time. You’ll need a Disney account and a hotel reservation confirmation number in order to do this. Luckily, this will not use one of your three Fastpass+ ride reservations. Right now you can book lunch through about mid June and you will only be allowed to book once during the first seven days of your hotel reservation. Hope this helps! P.S. Just found your blog – it’s great!!

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Thank you, K.L.! This blog is definitely a labor of love. I’ll be checking out your blog when I get a moment – looking forward to it!
      Thanks for the tip on FP+ for lunch. The last time we were there, this was by invitation only. In fact, the young couple ahead of us in line had just that day received an email letting them know they were eligible for a BOG lunch FP+! They were so adorable and their excitement was contagious!
      I definitely think that every Disney fan should experience BOG at least once, be it lunch or dinner. (It’s just that I, personally, preferred the dinner.) The ambience is absolutely breathtaking. Have fun on your trip!

Leave a Reply

