A trip 30 years in the making

Okay, the post title is a bit of an overstatement. Let me back up a little.

When my brother Dave and I were kids, our family lived in Florida. We were lucky enough to visit Disney World whenever family or friends visited.

Dave, our friend Chuckie, our friend Mickey, our sister Tricia, and me.

Dave, our friend Chuckie, our friend Mickey, our sister Tricia, and me.

Although we moved back up to NY a few years later, our family visited Disney World when Dave and I were teenagers.

Our sister Carlie and Dave in front of a Fort Wilderness cabin.

Our sister Carlie and Dave in front of a Fort Wilderness cabin.

Rockin' my totally 80s look on the boat to Magic Kingdom.

Rockin’ my totally 80s look on the boat to Magic Kingdom.

A couple years later, I went back to Disney on my senior class trip. Then my twenty year dry spell set in. It wasn’t until 2009 that I returned to the magic, this time with my husband and our three boys.

Disney 5

My brother and his family went to Disney a few years after that. But it wasn’t until this year that Dave and I (and our families) returned to Disney World together. It was wonderful!

wd004wdw2014236112713847

Being part of a big group at Disney World was so much fun! There was a very natural ebb and flow to our activities. Sometimes we were all together for a certain ride or a special meal. Sometimes we broke up into smaller groups so we could all accomplish our must-do’s. And being back at my beloved Disney with my awesome brother almost 30 years after our last trip together was amazing!

What are some of your special Disney family memories?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A trip 30 years in the making

  1. Heather G says:

    Great pics, Heather. Thanks for sharing.
    HGreenis – The Natasha Saga

  2. Great photos, Heather. All my memorie of Disneyland Paris are magical. Would love to make it to Florida one day!

Leave a Reply

