Disney for Two: the sequel

My first “Disney for two” experience was last winter, when my husband and I took a romantic getaway to the World. In the ten months since that trip, a lot has happened. The biggest change was our teen being diagnosed with celiac disease and our subsequent decision to homeschool him. (If you want more details on how those two things are related, check out this blog post on the common core.) My second Disney-for-two trip, which concluded so recently that I’m still suffering post-Disney depression, was completely different from the first one. It was a trip to the first annual Food Allergy and Celiac Convention. And it was fabulous!

Peoplemover selfie!

PeopleMover selfie!

I’ll get into more detail on the convention in future posts, but for now I’d like to share the results of my “to do” list for this trip. Mainly, I wanted to get photos of specific ride vehicles (for my updated “Rides for Five” series that is coming soon). I’m happy to say that we accomplished this mission! I also wanted to take the Wildlife Express Train to Rafiki’s Planet Watch in Animal Kingdom. We did this, and it was great! The final item on my list was to see Voices of Liberty perform at Epcot’s American Pavilion. This had been on my wish list for my last two Disney trips, and I’d been thwarted both times. This time would be different. After lunch at Akershus and before our FastPass+ for Soarin’, we had the perfect window to catch a performance of this a cappella group. We strolled from Norway to America, found a comfy spot on a bench, waited a few minutes, and then… a jazz trio was introduced.

“I’m so sorry!” I whispered to my son. “I dragged you over here for nothing!”

“It’s fine,” he replied. “They’re good!”

And they were. It was an excellent jazz trio. But they weren’t the Voices of Liberty. Maybe next trip…

I have so much great information to share with you about the convention and gluten-free dining at Disney, but first I’ll be doing some Christmasy posts and the Rides for Five series (before they make any more ride changes!!). Stay tuned!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Walt Disney World and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Disney for Two: the sequel

  1. Heather, I’m looking forward to your post about the trip to Disney World with your son. I saw this on Eric Price’s Twitter. I thought I was signed up for your blog but I’m not getting the notices. I don’t want to miss any of your informative posts. How do I proceed to get on a subscription list? Thank you.

    • HFBrainerd says:

      Hi Susan! On this blog’s home page, scroll all the way to the bottom. Under “follow this blog by email” click on the “sign me up” button. Thanks for your support!

  2. Heather, I looked at your Where to Eat postings. For a couple, my husband and myself, other than the French restaurant, what would be your three favorite choices for a nice themed meal at Disney World? Thank you.

    • HFBrainerd says:

      We love Tutto Gusto Wine Cellar in Epcot’s Italy Pavilion. It’s very cozy and the food is wonderful! In Hollywood Studios, we enjoy the Hollywood Brown Derby – delicious food and old Hollywood charm. In the Magic Kingdom, we really like Be Our Guest for dinner. The food was great (at dinnertime; at lunchtime it seemed too mass-produced) and the theming can’t be beat. Some folks think this place is too big and noisy, but I feel that it’s like stepping right into the movie Beauty and the Beast. We always spend so much time in the parks that we rarely eat at the resorts, but I understand that they offer some great restaurants, too.

  3. Thank you, Heather. I believe I saw these mentioned on a previous post, but it sounds like you would recommend them for a couple without children along as well. I’ll copy this and send it to my husband. Thanks again.

    My youngest son has mentioned about our taking grandchildren to Disney World eventually.

    Susan

Leave a Reply

