Our Favorite Disney Restaurants: Cinderella’s Royal Table

180 days before our vacation, 6:00 a.m, I’m on the Walt Disney World website booking our reservation for dinner at Cinderella’s Royal Table. Why so early? Because it was the first possible moment that I could book that restaurant. And if you don’t book it at the earliest possible moment, you might not get it. In fact, you probably won’t.

Sounds crazy, right? But it’s a relatively small restaurant (at least, by Disney standards). It’s also highly coveted. With good reason – it’s located INSIDE Cinderella Castle!

Now, I’d heard that the character interaction at this restaurant was great, but that the food was just okay. The prevailing opinion seemed to be that, when dining here, you were paying for the experience. Let me take a moment to address each.

The Princesses

Cinderella

I love any excuse to wear my tiara!

Upon your arrival inside the castle, you meet with Cinderella for a formal portrait. (She was a lovely hostess and very complimentary to my three princes.) Once your party is called, you ascend a spiral staircase. At the top, the beautiful dining room awaits. You are shown to your table, make your selections of appetizer and entree, and wait for the Princesses to stop by for a visit. They take plenty of time at each table to chat, sign autographs, and pose for pictures. They were, in a word, delightful.

royal couple

Ariel with our “Eric.”

The Food

DSC_0399-CRT-surf and turf

Steak and Shrimp

Having read that the food here was less than great, my expectations were low. Thus, I was quite pleasantly surprised to find that the food was excellent. We all loved our meals, from our pickiest kid to my foodie husband. We particularly loved the special desserts. The menu can be found here.

DSC_0431-CRT dessert 3

Dessert trio

The Experience

Our view

Our view

There is just something so special about dining inside Cinderella Castle. Everything, from start to finish, was very memorable. As we descended the spiral staircase on our way out, a footman stood at the bottom of the stairs, nodding to each of us as we passed. “Good night,” I said to him.

“Good evening, Your Majesty,” he replied with great dignity.

(Note: this visit was before my son’s diagnosis of celiac disease. We’ll have to go back to try their gluten-free offerings!)

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, Walt Disney World Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Our Favorite Disney Restaurants: Cinderella’s Royal Table

  1. emlmyers says:

    I had the same ‘180 day’ thing this past week – up early to make sure I got what I wanted! Never tried CRT though.. hopefully some time in the future

  2. Great post about your experience at Cinderella’s Royal Table. And thank you for the reminder to book far ahead for specialty restaurants.

    I was going to hold off getting the Unofficial tour book until summer when the new editions came out, but I’ll probably need it earlier to check out all of the restaurants.

  3. Pingback: WDW - Best Top of the World Views! - Living a Disney Life

  4. Mama Ames says:

    I eat at Cinderella’s Royal Table every chance I get. I love eating inside the castle, visiting with the Princess and the service is top notch.

Leave a Reply

