Akershus: gluten-free AND gluten-filled review. Plus some princess pics.

Akershus

We’d never been to Akershus before and we’d never eaten gluten-free at a Disney table-service restaurant before, so this was a meal of firsts! After checking in, we were greeted by Belle, commemorating the occasion with a formal portrait.

Akershus Belle

We then were shown to our table. I’d informed the restaurant of my son’s dietary restrictions ahead of time, so our waitress told us that the chef would be out to discuss the meal. Not long after that, the chef appeared at our table. He discussed the appetizer buffet with my son, advising him which items contained gluten (fortunately, there weren’t many).

My gluten-laden appetizers.  My son had a lot of gluten-free options, but his plate wasn't as pretty as mine.

My gluten-laden appetizers. My son had a lot of gluten-free options, but his plate wasn’t as pretty as mine.

Then it was time to take a look at the entree menu. The chef told us that he could modify all but one of the entrees to be gluten free, my son chose what he wanted, and the chef prepared it just for him.

Delicious gluten-free chicken and potatoes.

Delicious gluten-free chicken and potatoes.

Dessert was yummy – a trio of gluten-laden goodies for me, delicious sorbet for my son.

My glutenous dessert trio.

My glutenous dessert trio. My son’s sorbet looked yummy, too, but didn’t last long enough for a picture!

While we enjoyed our meal, the princesses came to our table to visit!

FACC40

FACC43

FACC46

FACC49

Isn’t my kid a good sport? What an enchanting and delicious meal! What do you think of Akershus?

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Epcot, Gluten-free, Walt Disney World, Walt Disney World Dining and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Akershus: gluten-free AND gluten-filled review. Plus some princess pics.

  1. wdwmelissa says:

    I love getting more information on how good Disney is with dietary restrictions! That chicken looks delicious!

  2. What great fun!! And gluten free all the way!! Now that’s a good time! Great photos, too.

Leave a Reply

