Our first Disney cruise!

I’m scared of boats, claustrophobic, and prone to motion sickness. A cruise was never on my wish list. But for several years, my boys expressed interest in a Disney cruise. This past Christmas, my husband and I made it their big gift. We just sailed last week, and wow – Disney knows how to cruise! I have lots of tips to share in the weeks to come, but for now, here’s the big Christmas-morning reveal:

cruise reveal

Each of our three boys received a wrapped mailing tube (which I’d picked up at a craft store). We asked the boys to open these gifts at the same time. Inside each tube was a pirate scroll, which they unfurled to reveal the cruise info:

cruise itinerary

In addition to the scrolls, each boy received a pirate shirt (for Pirate Night), a polo shirt (for Dress Up Night), and a customized Disney magnet for our stateroom door. They were very excited, and I felt very brave to be facing my fears!

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Disney Cruise and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Our first Disney cruise!

  1. What a great idea! That must have been wonderful to see the expressions on their faces.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the cruise.

    All the best.

  2. Eric Price says:

    I’m glad you were able to get over your fears and enjoy yourself. My boys constantly beg to go again. We’ll see what Disney World does for them this summer.

    • HFBrainerd says:

      I think your boys will love WDW, Eric. It’s great that they enjoyed the cruise so much! I liked it enough to contemplate a land-and-sea vacation in a few years.

  3. J.Q. Rose says:

    My DH is prone to seasickness. Our first and last cruise was awful the first night out. We hit a storm, people got sick in the elevators, hallways, ugh..He got sick too. The Captain said we’d be out of it at midnight, and on the button at 12, the waves calmed down and the rest of the trip–3 more days–was fine. I’d love to take the grandkids on the WDW Cruise, but kind of scared for his sake.

  4. J.Q. Rose says:

    Aargh, Matie. Sorry I got all caught up in my seasick story and forgot to congratulate you on your clever way of revealing the cruise surprise. I’d love to have been there to watch the boys as the reality sank in and then celebrated the gift. Giving kids the experiences are worth so much more than all the boxes of toys, electronics, sox and underwear. They’ll be re living the cruise with you the rest of their lives.

  5. Heather, what a great way to present this wonderful gift to your boys at Christmas. I wish I could have seen their expressions as well. Looking forward to hearing about your cruise experience.

Leave a Reply

