A small fire and some Cubans

Disney strives for perfection, which I fully appreciate. Some things are beyond their control, however. We saw this firsthand on our Disney cruise. The calm, professional, and compassionate way in which the crew handled a couple of very unusual situations further secured my love of Disney.

Day four was an “at sea” day. We took full advantage of all the great activities offered onboard. At one point, we decided to go up to Deck 9 for a character meet-and-greet. While standing in the short line, awaiting our turn, about a dozen crew members in full fire-fighting gear ran past us. It was a quiet, orderly run – almost a jog. There was no yelling or other commotion. They quickly assembled at Pinocchio’s Pizzeria and focused intently on, well, whatever it was they were doing. There was a total lack of drama, so we thought it was just a drill. Shortly after they dispersed, the captain came over the PA system to explain that there had been a “small fire” in the pizzeria and that everything was fine. I breathed a sigh of relief knowing Disney Cruise Line had such an awesome protocol in place for an event like that.

This is one of the pictures I took during the "small fire" emergency. The entire crew was so calm, we had no idea it was more than a drill.

This is one of the pictures I took during the “small fire” emergency. The entire crew was so calm, we had no idea it was more than a drill.

Later that day, my husband and I indulged in a couples massage. (Highly recommended!) Afterwards, as I passed an incoming guest in the changing room, she said to me, “I hope we get moving again soon.”

“Pardon?”

“I heard the Coast Guard is coming, so we should be moving again once they get here.”

I had no idea what she meant, so I explained that I’d just come from a 50-minute massage, and she explained that we’d come across a small boat full of Cuban refugees while I’d been off the grid. Our ship had come to a stop to wait with them until the Coast Guard arrived. I rushed out of the spa, leaving my poor husband behind, to check on our boys. I was concerned that the situation might scare them. Fortunately, they weren’t scared, but they were very concerned about the refugees. Our ship stayed with the small boat for about 1 1/2 hours until the Coast Guard arrived to lead them away. During that time, our ship’s crew members gave them food, water, and extra clothing. While they couldn’t allow them onto the Wonder, they did everything they could to help. And, just like with the pizza fire, it was done with calm professionalism and a complete lack of drama.

photo credit: Weston Brainerd

photo credit: Weston Brainerd

photo credit: Weston Brainerd

photo credit: Weston Brainerd

My highest regards go to Captain Fabian and his crew for the outstanding way in which they handled two emergencies in one day at sea.

About HFBrainerd

Published novelist and Disney World fanatic. Thanks for coming along on this wild ride!
This entry was posted in Disney, Disney Cruise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A small fire and some Cubans

  1. What an interesting post, Heather, about the Cuban refugees and I love the photo of your boys with Goofy. The Disney Cruise Line does have class.

  2. J.Q. Rose says:

    Now that added some drama to your day. Glad to hear such a good report about the crew and captain. Love your character and kids pic. I giggled when you said Pinocchio’s Pizzaria…Waited for the punch line, but a fire is not a joke. Love reading about your adventures at sea!

Leave a Reply

